Skip to content

Internal Medicine/Psychiatry

A combined pathway for patients whose medical and psychiatric illness cannot be treated separately, concentrated in a handful of programs.

Entry
Direct from medical school
Apply through
ERAS
Match through
NRMP Main Match

Among the 31 specialties

Every rail is one dot per specialty, ordered lowest to highest, so all six read as one profile. Dots stack where specialties share a value. We do not yet measure Internal Medicine/Psychiatry, so it has no dot on these rails — the field it would join is drawn anyway. Point anywhere along a rail to name a specialty.

one specialtymiddle halfmedian
Programs
Programs: not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.

Programs ranges from 5 to 820 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 82 and 210.

Training length
Training length: not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.

Training length ranges from 2 years to 7 years across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 3 years and 5 years.

Interviews per position
Interviews per position: not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.

Interviews per position ranges from 1.0× to 5.0× across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between 2.7× and 3.5×.

Residents in training
Residents in training: not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.

Residents in training ranges from 99 to 40,131 across 30 specialties. The middle half sit between 718 and 6,616.

States and territories
States and territories: not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.

States and territories ranges from 4 to 52 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 35 and 46.

First-year resident pay
First-year resident pay: not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.

First-year resident pay ranges from $60K to $73K across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between $67K and $69K.

Every accredited program

Grouped by state, alphabetical within each. We don’t rank programs. Open any row for its deadlines, salary, visas, and reported outcomes.

We publish a program list for a specialty only once it has been through the same accredited import as every other list here, and Internal Medicine/Psychiatry has not been through it yet. Rather than a partial list, there is none.

How each measure is made

Training length
How many years the accredited residency itself runs. Specialties you enter at PGY-2 need a separately matched preliminary or transitional year before this clock starts, and any fellowship comes after it.Not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.
Residents in training
How many residents the specialty holds at once, counting every training year at every program. It is a measure of the field’s size rather than of its annual intake — divide by the training length for a rough sense of how many start each year.Not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.
Programs
How many separately accredited residency programs the specialty has. Each one is its own application, its own interview, and its own line on your rank list.Not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.
States and territories
How many states and territories have at least one program. This is the geography question: a specialty with 400 programs across 20 states is far more concentrated than one with 100 spread across 45.Not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.
First-year resident pay
What you are paid during your first year of training, before any of it becomes an attending salary. The spread across specialties is narrow — this is not the number that separates them.Not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.
Interviews per position
How many applicants a program interviews for each position it offers — at 4×, a program with ten spots interviews about forty people. It is a read on how far the field narrows at the interview stage, not on how many applied.Not reported for Internal Medicine/Psychiatry.