Occupational & Environmental Medicine
Population health at work — exposure, injury, and fitness for duty — one of the few specialties routinely practiced outside a clinical setting.
- Training
- 2 years
- Entry
- Starts at PGY-2
- Apply through
- ERAS
- Match through
- NRMP Main Match
- Accredited programs
- 20
Training begins at PGY-2. The first year is a preliminary or transitional position you apply for, rank, and match separately — a second application in the same season.
Among the 31 specialties
What sets Occupational & Environmental Medicine apart most is training length: 2 years, shared with 3 other specialties.
Every rail is one dot per specialty, ordered lowest to highest, so all six read as one profile. Dots stack where specialties share a value. Occupational & Environmental Medicine’s is the coloured dot — point anywhere along a rail to name the others.
- Programs
- Programs: 20. More than 1 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 29. Reported range across specialties: 5 to 820.
- Training length
- Training length: 2 years. Longer than 0 of the 31 specialties reporting; shorter than 27. Reported range across specialties: 2 years to 7 years.
- Interviews per position
- Interviews per position: not reported for Occupational & Environmental Medicine.
- Residents in training
- Residents in training: not reported for Occupational & Environmental Medicine.
- States and territories
- States and territories: 16. More than 1 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 29. Reported range across specialties: 4 to 52.
- First-year resident pay
- First-year resident pay: not reported for Occupational & Environmental Medicine.
Programs ranges from 5 to 820 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 82 and 210.
Training length ranges from 2 years to 7 years across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 3 years and 5 years.
Interviews per position ranges from 1.0× to 5.0× across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between 2.7× and 3.5×.
Residents in training ranges from 99 to 40,131 across 30 specialties. The middle half sit between 718 and 6,616.
States and territories ranges from 4 to 52 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 35 and 46.
First-year resident pay ranges from $60K to $73K across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between $67K and $69K.
Every accredited program
Grouped by state, alphabetical within each. We don’t rank programs. Open any row for its deadlines, salary, visas, and reported outcomes.
20 across 16 states
What the sources report
Published by the bodies that collect them. Each figure carries the year it describes, which is not always the year it was published.
Most recent reported
- active_acgme_program_countActive U.S. OEM residency programs
- 20programsACGME, 2026-2027
- direct_patient_care_occupational_setting_per_yearAll ACGME-accredited OEM residency programs
- 4months per educational yearACGME, 2026-2027
- required_oem_education_monthsAll ACGME-accredited OEM residency programs
- 24monthsACGME, 2026-2027
How each measure is made
- Training length
- How many years the accredited residency itself runs. Specialties you enter at PGY-2 need a separately matched preliminary or transitional year before this clock starts, and any fellowship comes after it.Accredited length across programs in this specialty. A few specialties run both lengths — Emergency Medicine has three-year and four-year programs — and are shown as a range.
- Residents in training
- How many residents the specialty holds at once, counting every training year at every program. It is a measure of the field’s size rather than of its annual intake — divide by the training length for a rough sense of how many start each year.Not reported for Occupational & Environmental Medicine.
- Programs
- How many separately accredited residency programs the specialty has. Each one is its own application, its own interview, and its own line on your rank list.Accredited programs currently published in our directory.
- States and territories
- How many states and territories have at least one program. This is the geography question: a specialty with 400 programs across 20 states is far more concentrated than one with 100 spread across 45.Distinct states with at least one published program.
- First-year resident pay
- What you are paid during your first year of training, before any of it becomes an attending salary. The spread across specialties is narrow — this is not the number that separates them.Not reported for Occupational & Environmental Medicine.
- Interviews per position
- How many applicants a program interviews for each position it offers — at 4×, a program with ten spots interviews about forty people. It is a read on how far the field narrows at the interview stage, not on how many applied.Not reported for Occupational & Environmental Medicine.
