Aerospace Medicine
Occupational medicine for pilots, aircrew, and astronauts — a small, largely military and federal field built around fitness-to-fly rather than treatment.
- Training
- 2 years
- Entry
- Starts at PGY-2
- Apply through
- ERAS
- Match through
- NRMP Main Match
- Accredited programs
- 5
Training begins at PGY-2. The first year is a preliminary or transitional position you apply for, rank, and match separately — a second application in the same season.
Among the 31 specialties
What sets Aerospace Medicine apart most is programs: 5, fewer than every other specialty.
Every rail is one dot per specialty, ordered lowest to highest, so all six read as one profile. Dots stack where specialties share a value. Aerospace Medicine’s is the coloured dot — point anywhere along a rail to name the others.
- Programs
- Programs: 5. More than 0 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 30. Reported range across specialties: 5 to 820.
- Training length
- Training length: 2 years. Longer than 0 of the 31 specialties reporting; shorter than 27. Reported range across specialties: 2 years to 7 years.
- Interviews per position
- Interviews per position: not reported for Aerospace Medicine.
- Residents in training
- Residents in training: 99. More than 0 of the 30 specialties reporting; fewer than 29. Reported range across specialties: 99 to 40,131.
- States and territories
- States and territories: 4. More than 0 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 30. Reported range across specialties: 4 to 52.
- First-year resident pay
- First-year resident pay: not reported for Aerospace Medicine.
Programs ranges from 5 to 820 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 82 and 210.
Training length ranges from 2 years to 7 years across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 3 years and 5 years.
Interviews per position ranges from 1.0× to 5.0× across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between 2.7× and 3.5×.
Residents in training ranges from 99 to 40,131 across 30 specialties. The middle half sit between 718 and 6,616.
States and territories ranges from 4 to 52 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 35 and 46.
First-year resident pay ranges from $60K to $73K across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between $67K and $69K.
Every accredited program
Grouped by state, alphabetical within each. We don’t rank programs. Open any row for its deadlines, salary, visas, and reported outcomes.
What the sources report
Published by the bodies that collect them. Each figure carries the year it describes, which is not always the year it was published.
Most recent reported
- current_accredited_categorical_program_countCurrent ACGME Aerospace Medicine categorical roster
- 5programsACGME, 2026-2027
- prior_clinical_education_for_applicable_24_month_formatEntrants to a 24-month format that does not integrate fundamental clinical skills
- 12monthsACGME, 2026
- required_clinical_aerospace_medicine_educationACGME Aerospace Medicine residency formats
- 24monthsACGME, 2026
Specialties that measure like this one
Nearest on the six measures above — length, competitiveness, scale, geography, pay. Not a claim that the work is similar, and not a recommendation.
- Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal MedicineManual medicine as a specialty in its own right, focused on musculoskeletal diagnosis and osteopathic manipulative treatment.
- Nuclear MedicineFunctional imaging and radionuclide therapy, a small field sitting between radiology and oncology and increasingly defined by theranostics.
- Public Health & General Preventive MedicineMedicine practiced at the level of populations rather than patients — epidemiology, policy, and program design, usually paired with an MPH.
- Medical Genetics & GenomicsDiagnosis and management of inherited disease, increasingly defined by sequencing — a small field with an unusually large share of research time.
How each measure is made
- Training length
- How many years the accredited residency itself runs. Specialties you enter at PGY-2 need a separately matched preliminary or transitional year before this clock starts, and any fellowship comes after it.Accredited length across programs in this specialty. A few specialties run both lengths — Emergency Medicine has three-year and four-year programs — and are shown as a range.
- Residents in training
- How many residents the specialty holds at once, counting every training year at every program. It is a measure of the field’s size rather than of its annual intake — divide by the training length for a rough sense of how many start each year.Total approved positions across all training years, summed across programs.
- Programs
- How many separately accredited residency programs the specialty has. Each one is its own application, its own interview, and its own line on your rank list.Accredited programs currently published in our directory.
- States and territories
- How many states and territories have at least one program. This is the geography question: a specialty with 400 programs across 20 states is far more concentrated than one with 100 spread across 45.Distinct states with at least one published program.
- First-year resident pay
- What you are paid during your first year of training, before any of it becomes an attending salary. The spread across specialties is narrow — this is not the number that separates them.Not reported for Aerospace Medicine.
- Interviews per position
- How many applicants a program interviews for each position it offers — at 4×, a program with ten spots interviews about forty people. It is a read on how far the field narrows at the interview stage, not on how many applied.Not reported for Aerospace Medicine.
