Skip to content

Public Health & General Preventive Medicine

Medicine practiced at the level of populations rather than patients — epidemiology, policy, and program design, usually paired with an MPH.

Training
2 years
Entry
Starts at PGY-2
Apply through
ERAS
Match through
NRMP Main Match
Accredited programs
40

Training begins at PGY-2. The first year is a preliminary or transitional position you apply for, rank, and match separately — a second application in the same season.

Among the 31 specialties

What sets Public Health & General Preventive Medicine apart most is training length: 2 years, shared with 3 other specialties.

Every rail is one dot per specialty, ordered lowest to highest, so all six read as one profile. Dots stack where specialties share a value. Public Health & General Preventive Medicine’s is the coloured dot — point anywhere along a rail to name the others.

one specialtymiddle halfmedian
Programs
Programs: 40. More than 5 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 25. Reported range across specialties: 5 to 820.

Programs ranges from 5 to 820 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 82 and 210.

Training length
Training length: 2 years. Longer than 0 of the 31 specialties reporting; shorter than 27. Reported range across specialties: 2 years to 7 years.

Training length ranges from 2 years to 7 years across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 3 years and 5 years.

Interviews per position
Interviews per position: 1.6×. More than 1 of the 28 specialties reporting; fewer than 26. Reported range across specialties: 1.0× to 5.0×.

Interviews per position ranges from 1.0× to 5.0× across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between 2.7× and 3.5×.

Residents in training
Residents in training: 342. More than 4 of the 30 specialties reporting; fewer than 25. Reported range across specialties: 99 to 40,131.

Residents in training ranges from 99 to 40,131 across 30 specialties. The middle half sit between 718 and 6,616.

States and territories
States and territories: 25. More than 5 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 25. Reported range across specialties: 4 to 52.

States and territories ranges from 4 to 52 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 35 and 46.

First-year resident pay
First-year resident pay: not reported for Public Health & General Preventive Medicine.

First-year resident pay ranges from $60K to $73K across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between $67K and $69K.

Every accredited program

Grouped by state, alphabetical within each. We don’t rank programs. Open any row for its deadlines, salary, visas, and reported outcomes.

40

Arkansas1

California5

Colorado1

Connecticut1

Florida1

Georgia2

Illinois1

Maine1

Maryland3

Massachusetts2

Michigan2

Minnesota1

Mississippi1

New Hampshire1

New Jersey1

New Mexico1

New York6

North Carolina1

Ohio1

Oregon1

South Carolina1

Tennessee1

Texas2

Washington1

Wisconsin1

What the sources report

Published by the bodies that collect them. Each figure carries the year it describes, which is not always the year it was published.

Most recent reported

AAMC ERAS 2027 not-participating programsAll rows on specialty-code 380 AAMC page
6programsAAMC, 2027 ERAS
AAMC ERAS 2027 participating programsAll rows on specialty-code 380 AAMC page
26programsAAMC, 2027 ERAS
AAMC ERAS 2027 unregistered programsAll rows on specialty-code 380 AAMC page
6programsAAMC, 2027 ERAS
ERAS program signalsSelect PH/GPM programs
3signalsAAMC, 2027 ERAS
Programs listed on the AAMC ERAS 2027 pageAll rows on specialty-code 380 AAMC page
38programsAAMC, 2027 ERAS
Current ACGME PH/GPM program countCurrent specialty-380 ADS roster
40programsACGME, 2026-2027
Active NRMP directory tracksLive PH/GPM directory tracks
36tracksNRMP, 2026-07-20 snapshot
Advanced NRMP directory tracksLive PH/GPM directory tracks
13tracksNRMP, 2026-07-20 snapshot
Initial NRMP directory tracksLive PH/GPM directory tracks
5tracksNRMP, 2026-07-20 snapshot
NRMP live directory track countLive PH/GPM directory tracks
42tracksNRMP, 2026-07-20 snapshot
Programs with a live NRMP directory trackCurrent roster programs linked by ACGME ID
28programsNRMP, 2026-07-20 snapshot
Reserved physician NRMP directory tracksLive PH/GPM directory tracks
29tracksNRMP, 2026-07-20 snapshot
Withdrawn NRMP directory tracksLive PH/GPM directory tracks
1tracksNRMP, 2026-07-20 snapshot
ACGME PH/GPM program countACGME Data Resource Book
40programsACGME, 2024-2025
Average first-year salaryFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
71,684.97USDfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024
Average paid vacationFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
18daysfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024
Average residents per programFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
4.7residentsfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024
Average weekly duty hoursFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
46hoursfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024
FREIDA accredited-program countFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
41programsfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024
FREIDA typical program lengthFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
2yearsfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024
Program completionsFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
67graduatesfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024
Total active residentsFREIDA 2024 specialty summary
143residentsfreida.ama-assn.org, 2024

Specialties that measure like this one

Nearest on the six measures above — length, competitiveness, scale, geography, pay. Not a claim that the work is similar, and not a recommendation.

How each measure is made

Training length
How many years the accredited residency itself runs. Specialties you enter at PGY-2 need a separately matched preliminary or transitional year before this clock starts, and any fellowship comes after it.Accredited length across programs in this specialty. A few specialties run both lengths — Emergency Medicine has three-year and four-year programs — and are shown as a range.
Residents in training
How many residents the specialty holds at once, counting every training year at every program. It is a measure of the field’s size rather than of its annual intake — divide by the training length for a rough sense of how many start each year.Total approved positions across all training years, summed across programs.
Programs
How many separately accredited residency programs the specialty has. Each one is its own application, its own interview, and its own line on your rank list.Accredited programs currently published in our directory.
States and territories
How many states and territories have at least one program. This is the geography question: a specialty with 400 programs across 20 states is far more concentrated than one with 100 spread across 45.Distinct states with at least one published program.
First-year resident pay
What you are paid during your first year of training, before any of it becomes an attending salary. The spread across specialties is narrow — this is not the number that separates them.Not reported for Public Health & General Preventive Medicine.
Interviews per position
How many applicants a program interviews for each position it offers — at 4×, a program with ten spots interviews about forty people. It is a read on how far the field narrows at the interview stage, not on how many applied.Median interviews a program conducts for each position it offers.