Internal Medicine
The diagnostic backbone of adult medicine and the largest residency in the country — three years that open onto nearly every medical subspecialty.
- Training
- 3 years
- Entry
- Direct from medical school
- Apply through
- ERAS
- Match through
- NRMP Main Match
- Accredited programs
- 702
Among the 31 specialties
What sets Internal Medicine apart most is residents in training: 40,131, more than every other specialty.
Every rail is one dot per specialty, ordered lowest to highest, so all six read as one profile. Dots stack where specialties share a value. Internal Medicine’s is the coloured dot — point anywhere along a rail to name the others.
- Programs
- Programs: 702. More than 29 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 1. Reported range across specialties: 5 to 820.
- Training length
- Training length: 3 years. Longer than 4 of the 31 specialties reporting; shorter than 18. Reported range across specialties: 2 years to 7 years.
- Interviews per position
- Interviews per position: not reported for Internal Medicine.
- Residents in training
- Residents in training: 40,131. More than 29 of the 30 specialties reporting; fewer than 0. Reported range across specialties: 99 to 40,131.
- States and territories
- States and territories: 51. More than 29 of the 31 specialties reporting; fewer than 1. Reported range across specialties: 4 to 52.
- First-year resident pay
- First-year resident pay: $67K. Higher than 4 of the 28 specialties reporting; lower than 22. Reported range across specialties: $60K to $73K.
Programs ranges from 5 to 820 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 82 and 210.
Training length ranges from 2 years to 7 years across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 3 years and 5 years.
Interviews per position ranges from 1.0× to 5.0× across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between 2.7× and 3.5×.
Residents in training ranges from 99 to 40,131 across 30 specialties. The middle half sit between 718 and 6,616.
States and territories ranges from 4 to 52 across 31 specialties. The middle half sit between 35 and 46.
First-year resident pay ranges from $60K to $73K across 28 specialties. The middle half sit between $67K and $69K.
Every accredited program
Grouped by state, alphabetical within each. We don’t rank programs. Open any row for its deadlines, salary, visas, and reported outcomes.
702 across 51 states
Alabama12
Alaska1
Arizona14
Arkansas11
California67
Colorado4
Connecticut13
Delaware2
District of Columbia4
Florida57
Georgia24
Hawaii4
Idaho2
Illinois24
Indiana8
Iowa4
Kansas4
Kentucky7
Louisiana12
Maine1
Maryland13
Massachusetts15
Michigan36
Minnesota4
Mississippi9
Missouri15
Montana2
Nebraska2
Nevada6
New Hampshire2
New Jersey30
New Mexico4
New York65
North Carolina15
North Dakota2
Ohio33
Oklahoma5
Oregon6
Pennsylvania37
Puerto Rico9
Rhode Island4
South Carolina11
South Dakota1
Tennessee12
Texas48
Utah1
Vermont1
Virginia16
Washington10
West Virginia6
Wisconsin7
Specialties that measure like this one
Nearest on the six measures above — length, competitiveness, scale, geography, pay. Not a claim that the work is similar, and not a recommendation.
- Family MedicineThe widest scope in medicine and the largest number of positions, spanning newborns to hospice with continuity as the core of the work.
- PsychiatryDiagnosis and treatment of mental illness through pharmacology and psychotherapy, weighted toward outpatient practice after training.
- Emergency MedicineUndifferentiated patients on the clock — broad, procedural, shift-based, and the specialty where the schedule genuinely ends when the shift does.
- NeurologyLocalizing lesions by examination and then managing chronic disease — stroke, epilepsy, and neurodegeneration — across inpatient and clinic settings.
How each measure is made
- Training length
- How many years the accredited residency itself runs. Specialties you enter at PGY-2 need a separately matched preliminary or transitional year before this clock starts, and any fellowship comes after it.Accredited length across programs in this specialty. A few specialties run both lengths — Emergency Medicine has three-year and four-year programs — and are shown as a range.
- Residents in training
- How many residents the specialty holds at once, counting every training year at every program. It is a measure of the field’s size rather than of its annual intake — divide by the training length for a rough sense of how many start each year.Total approved positions across all training years, summed across programs.
- Programs
- How many separately accredited residency programs the specialty has. Each one is its own application, its own interview, and its own line on your rank list.Accredited programs currently published in our directory.
- States and territories
- How many states and territories have at least one program. This is the geography question: a specialty with 400 programs across 20 states is far more concentrated than one with 100 spread across 45.Distinct states with at least one published program.
- First-year resident pay
- What you are paid during your first year of training, before any of it becomes an attending salary. The spread across specialties is narrow — this is not the number that separates them.Median PGY-1 stipend across programs — what you are paid during residency, not what the specialty earns afterwards.
- Interviews per position
- How many applicants a program interviews for each position it offers — at 4×, a program with ten spots interviews about forty people. It is a read on how far the field narrows at the interview stage, not on how many applied.Not reported for Internal Medicine.
